Project Update

Planning Commission: EIR Approved

Board of Supervisors: EIR Approved

Stay Informed
This form does not yet contain any fields.

    Slideshow Image 1
    Slideshow Image 2
    Slideshow Image 3
    Slideshow Image 4
    Slideshow Image 5

    Project Overview

    Treasure Island and Yerba Buena Island will be redeveloped into a 465-acre community that balances housing, retail and historic sites with parks and open space to create one of the nation’s most sustainable master planned projects. Treasure Island will feature a wide array of home styles to appeal to residents of varying ages, incomes and lifestyles. Residents will enjoy their own new school, fire station, retail services – all of it set amid parks and open space with sweeping views of the San Francisco Bay and the downtown San Francisco skyline.

    The Clinton Climate Initiative and the United States Green Building Council have selected Treasure Island as one of the 16 founding projects in 10 countries on six continents that will set an environmental and economic example for large scale development projects around the world.

    Residential enclaves will be located in three distinct neighborhoods, with each one centered around a town center and intermodal transit hub. At least 25 percent of the 8,000 housing units will be priced below market rates for lower-income residents, creating a rich diversity and vitality for the neighborhood.

    Nearly three quarters of the land on Treasure Island and Yerba Buena Island – 300 acres -- will be preserved as public or private parks and open space. Residents and visitors will enjoy hiking hilly trails; biking and strolling along a scenic perimeter trail; sailing from a redeveloped marina; relaxing in sunny, sheltered neighborhood parks; and exploring wild habitat and wetlands on the northern shore.

    The Project also has been recognized by the American Institure of Architects (AIA) as a recipient of its 2009 National Honor Award for Regional and Urban Design; and has received the Governor’s Economic and Experimental Leadership Award.